Daniil Trifonov, Lukas Karytinos

Athens State Orchestra, Daniil Trifonov, Lukas Karytinos

Athens State Orchestra, Daniil Trifonov, Lukas Karytinos

Concert staged within the framework of the Athens & Epidaurus Festival

Works by Koumendakis, Rachmaninoff & Shostakovich

If any pianist today can be considered a worthy descendant of the stars of piano's golden age, that pianist is undoubtedly Daniil Trifonov. His spectacular virtuosity, coupled with his deeply expressive interpretations, guarantees a stirring rendition of Rachmaninov's evergreen Second Concerto. With the celebrated maestro Lukas Karytinos providing firm direction from the podium, the Athens State Orchestra will also perform Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony, which is often called “Shostakovich’s classical symphony” in recognition of its density, translucence and freshness. The concert will end with Giorgos Koumendakis’ atmospheric The pedal tone for a child, a work inspired by the priceless musical heritage of Byzantium.

Thu., 24 Jun. 2021 21:00

Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The Pedal Tone for a Child
Piano concerto no. 2 in C minor, op. 18
Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 70
Daniil Trifonov, piano
Lukas Karytinos

Ticket prices:
Prominent Zone: 60€
Α Zone: 50€
Β Zone: 40€
Γ Zone: 30€
Upper Tier: 25/20/15€
Students, 65+, Artist Unions: 16/12€
Persons with disabilities, Unemployed, Art School Students: 5€

For further information, please click here to visit the Festival's page