Music - Poetry I

The Athens State Orchestra is delighted to honour the tireless conductor and composer Alkis Baltas with this concert in which he conducts the première performances of two of his symphonic works, one of is also an Athens State Orchestra commision. We will also be listening to the exquisite and in many ways ground-breaking incidental music which Dmitri Shostakovich wrote for Nikolay Akimov's 1932 production of Hamlet. The programme ends with the clarinet concerto by the Argentine composer, pianist and arranger Daniel Freiberg, in which the improvisational mood of jazz is combined with the sensuality of Latin music and the plenitude of the symphonic sound. The soloist is the famous Greek clarinettist, and principal clarinettist of the Athens State Orchestra, Spyros Mourikis.

Fri., 10 Nov. 2023 20:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Christos Lambrakis Hall
(b. 1948)
«I oppen the door in the evening» for string, inspired by Mikis Theodorakis' melody with the same name, to Tasos Livaditis' poetry
«Loss» for solo cello and string orchestra, in memoriam to Renos Baltas, an Athens State Orchestra's commision
(b. 1957)
Latin American Chronicles
Suite from the theatre play "Hamlet", opus 116a
Dimitris Kataleifos, narration
Asterios Pouftis, cello
Spyros Mourikis, clarinet
Alkis Baltas

19:30, free introductory speech for ticket holders


Ticket price: 25€, 20€, 15€ and 8€ (concessions)

Advance ticket sale: 28 July