Tribute to Rachmaninoff on the 70th anniversary of his death

The Athens State Orchestra will be marking the seventieth anniversary of the death of Sergei Rachmaninoff with a programme consisting of two of his finest and most charming works. The celebrated pianist Nikolai Demidenko joins us for a performance of the Russian composer’s rarely played but powerful Fourth Concerto, while Vassilis Christopoulos guides the orchestra through his Second Symphony, a work awash with harmonic beauty and fiery passion.

Fri., 29 Mar. 2013 20:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Christos Lambrakis Hall
Piano concerto No. 4 in G minor, Op .40
Symphony No.2 in E minor, Op.27
Nikolai Demidenko, piano
Vassilis Christopoulos

Pre-concert talk, free for ticket holders