Roza Poulimenou, Panagiotis Pratsos, Ioannis Karampetsos, Spyros Prosoparis

Mantzaros + 1

150 years since the death of Nikolaos Mantzaros

While Greeks everywhere may be familiar with Nikolaos Mantzaros as a name, since he composed our national anthem, the sad truth is that most of us know next to nothing about the remainder of his musical output. To mark the 150th anniversary of his death, the Athens State Orchestra is providing its audience with an opportunity to familiarize itself with works by the great Corfiote composer performed by musicians with an in-depth knowledge of his music. As an interesting counterpoint, the concert also includes a charming contemporary symphonic work by the imaginative American composer, John Adams.

Fri., 25 Feb. 2022 20:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Christos Lambrakis Hall
Sinfonia no. 1 “Di genere orientale”
Sinfonia no. 2
Sinfonia, orchestration by Spyros Prosoparis
«Ulissi egli Ellissi», overture
Romanza for trumpet and piano, orchestration by Spyros Prosoparis
«Don Crepuscolo», two arie for baritone and orchestra: «Figli del amor mio», «Numi d’ antichità»
«Come augellin che canta», aria for Soprano and Orchestra
«Aurora», aria for Soprano and Orchestra
The Chairman dances
Roza Poulimenou, soprano
Panagiotis Pratsos , baritone
Ioannis Karampetsos, trumpet
Spyros Prosoparis

19:30, free introductory speech by Kostas Kardamis for ticket holders


Ticket price: 25€, 20€, 15€, 20€, and 8€ (concessions)
Advance ticket sale: 4 October 2021

Please read the instructions for the prevention of spread of Covid-10 BEFORE purchasing your ticket.