An American in Paris, Miguel Covarrubias, 1929

Musical promenades at the Museums III - America

Due to a minor health issue, which affected one of the members of the Woodwind quintet of the Athens State Orchestra, we had to postpone the concert "Musical promenades at the Museums III - America", which was scheduled for December 16th at the B & M Theocharakis Foundation for the Fine Arts and Music. We will inform you for the new date of the concert.

Any talk of American music inevitably calls jazz to mind, thanks to the power of allusion. And this 'black music’ really did leave an indelible mark on the work of many American composers of serious —and other forms of— music. In the run-up to Christmas, the Athens State Orchestra's dynamic Woodwind Quintet performs acknowledged masterpieces of American music whose vivacity and brio are completely in tune with the festive season.

Mon., 16 Dec. 2019 18:00

B & M Theocharakis Foundation for the Fine Arts and Music

“American” quartet in F major, Op. 96
An American in Paris, excerpts
Excerpts from the opera "Porgy and Bess,"
«Somewhere», from the musical West Side Story

Woodwind quintet of the Athens State Orchestra.

Vaggelis Stathoulopoulos, flute

Christina Pandelidou, oboe

Spyros Mourikis, clarinet

Odysseas Bassios, bassoon

Grigoris Asonitis, horn


Ticket price: 10€ and 5€.

At 17:00, one hour prior to the concert, a free guided tour in a collection of the Foundation will be offered by Mrs Anna Plessa to ticket holders.

For further information, you are kindly requested to contact the Foundation (210-3611206).