Gustav Mahler conducting the Philarmonic Orchestra of Vienna, painting by Max Oppenheimer

Gustav Mahler cycle, VI

Perhaps the most celebrated “moment” in the work of the great Austrian composer is the famous Adagietto, the slow movement of the 5th Symphony which quiet imposingly accompanied, years after its composition, Visconti’s cinematographic transcription of the “Death in Venice”. However, the whole Fifth symphony is a fine piece of objet d’art, a long and adventurous internal journey in the innermost paths of human soul; the guide in this journey will be the awarded German conductor Matthias Foremny.

Fri., 20 Apr. 2018 19:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Christos Lambrakis Hall
Symphony no.5 in C sharp minor
Matthias Foremny

19:45 Free introductory speech for ticket holders


Ticket price: 25€, 15€, 10€ and 5€ (for students or unemployed)