Elisabeth Leonskaja, Lukas Karytinos

A flame of youth and of maturity

Talent and inspiration can make their presence felt with equal power in youth and in maturity. Although written when the composer was just 18 years old, Shostakovich’s First Symphony may well be the most mature 'first symphony’ ever written by a young composer. At the other end of the spectrum, Brahms wrote his colossal Second Concerto for piano and orchestra aged 48, at the peak of his maturity, proving that the passing of the decades had removed none of the freshness and vigour from his works. The solo part is performed by the legendary Elisabeth Leonskaja, whose name has long been associated with riveting performances at the keyboard.

Fri., 1 Apr. 2022 20:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Christos Lambrakis Hall
Symphony No. 1 in F minor Op. 10
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op.83
Elisabeth Leonskaja, piano
Lukas Karytinos

Ticket price: 45€, 35€, 25€, 20€ και 15€ (concessions)
Advance ticket sale: 4 October 2021

Please read the instructions for the prevention of spread of Covid-10 BEFORE purchasing your ticket.